Azure Active Directory

Background

Azure Active Directory (or Azure AD) is a cloud-based service used to authenticate and authorize users for Microsoft Office 365 services, as well as for a variety of other internal and external applications and services.

Risk of Confusion

The name choice is somewhat unfortunate due to its similarity to Microsoft’s Active Directory. Choosing the same name was probably a marketing decision since, on a technical level, Active Directory (or its components, like domain services) and Azure Active Directory do not share any similarities. To avoid more confusion, we would like to clarify at this point: Azure Active Directory is NOT the same as Active Directory in the Cloud.

With the latest Microsoft operating systems (Windows 10 or later), it is possible to join an Azure Active Directory without having to become a member of a local, classic Active Directory domain service (AD DS) domain.

Advantages and Disadvantages

One advantage of Azure AD is that it requires no complex, local Active Directory infrastructure to be set up and managed. It also makes it easier to handle BYOD policies or a userbase spread out across various locations. These advantages are absolutely in line with Microsoft’s strict cloud-only strategy. However, banking on Azure AD alone also brings some disadvantages:

  • The objects in Azure AD are not managed in organizational units, which makes it more difficult to delegate administrative tasks.
  • Azure AD is unaware of group policies, which means that it is not possible to control device functions and settings in detail. MDM can help to model some parts of these options in Azure AD.
  • Azure AD does not support LDAP. Access to the user and group directory is provided only via REST API and PowerShell.
  • Azure AD does not support traditional authentication protocols, such as NTLM or Kerberos. Only new methods like OAuth are supported.

Azure AD was created for the purpose of integrating modern cloud applications. However, it lacks many of the traditional elements found in Active Directory environments, which is why the following alternatives to Azure AD Join were developed:

Azure AD Connect

Azure AD Connect enables hybrid operation between the traditional Active Directory and Azure AD. To do so, Azure AD Connect automatically synchronizes the relevant data from the local Active Directory to Azure AD.
For further information please visit our wiki entry for Azure AD Connect.

Azure AD Domain Services

Azure AD Domain Services (AAD DS) is an Azure product that provides an Active Directory domain (managed by Microsoft) on two domain controllers. This domain makes it possible to use organizational units and group policies. It also allows LDAP as a mode of connection to the directory service.
The domain controllers are managed by Microsoft, which also means automatic patch management. On the other hand, the possibilities of domain management are limited, e.g. domain administrator permissions are not provided.

Domain Controller to Azure (as IaaS)

Another alternative is to deploy your own Active Directory infrastructure through Azure VMs. This option would give you full control over the domain. The downside to this is that it means you are also entirely responsible for maintenance (patches, updates, backups, etc.). This option is most akin to a traditional, on-premises Active Directory. Merely the infrastructure in the form of Windows servers on Azure VMs is provided by Microsoft.

Summary

For organizations that follow a cloud-first or cloud-only approach and are willing to accept the limitations compared to a local Active Directory (or hybrid operation), Azure Active Directory can present a good, future-oriented alternative.
If, however, your organization depends on the functionalities of a traditional Active Directory, Azure AD is not a suitable choice. In this case, the Azure platform still provides some cloud-based approaches that allow you to implement a similar environment (Domain Controller to Azure and Azure AD Domain Services).

[FREE WHITEPAPER] Best Practices for Access Rights Management in Microsoft® Environments

Read our whitepaper to learn how to best handle access rights in Microsoft® environments.

Download

[FREE WHITEPAPER] Best Practices for Access Rights Management in Microsoft® Environments

Read our whitepaper to learn how to best handle access rights in Microsoft® environments.

Download
Go to Top

Azure Active Directory

Hintergrund

Azure Active Directory, oder Azure AD, ist ein cloud-basierter Dienst für die Authentifizierung und Autorisierung von Benutzern für Microsoft Office 365 Dienste und eine Vielzahl von anderen internen und externen Anwendungen und Diensten.

Verwechslungsgefahr

Die Namensgleichheit mit Active Directory ist etwas unglücklich gewählt. Es handelt sich vermutlich primär um eine Marketingentscheidung, denn auf technischer Ebene sind Active Directory (und dessen Bestandteile wie Domain Services) dem Azure Active Directory so gut wie gar nicht ähnlich. Nachdem es hier in der Vergangenheit immer zu massiven Verwechslungen gekommen ist, muss ganz klar gesagt werden: Azure Active Directory ist NICHT Active Directory aus der Cloud.
Mit modernen Microsoft-Betriebssystemen (Windows 10 oder später) ist es möglich, einem Azure Active Directory beizutreten, ohne dabei Mitglied einer lokalen, klassischen Active Directory Domain Services (AD DS) Domäne zu sein.

Vor- und Nachteile

Das bringt unter anderem den Vorteil mit sich, dass keine aufwändige, lokale Active Directory Infrastruktur aufgesetzt und verwaltet werden muss. Geographisch verstreute Benutzer sind ebenso einfacher handhabbar, wie auch BYOD-Szenarien. Diese Vorteile sind abgestimmt mit der strikten Cloud-Only-Strategie, die Microsoft verfolgt.
Der Einsatz eines reinen Azure AD bringt aber auch Nachteile mit sich, untere anderem:

  • Die Objekte in Azure AD werden nicht in Organisationseinheiten verwaltet, die Delegation der Administration wird somit schwieriger.
  • Azure AD kennt keine Gruppenrichtlinien. Die detaillierte Steuerung von Gerätefunktionen und Einstellungen ist somit nicht möglich. Über MDM kann ein Teil dieser Möglichkeiten auch in Azure AD abgebildet werden.
  • In Azure AD gibt es keine Unterstützung für LDAP. Zugriff auf das Benutzer- und Gruppenverzeichnis wird nur über REST API und PowerShell angeboten.
  • Es existiert in Azure AD keine Unterstützung für traditionelle Authentifizierungsprotokolle wie NTLM oder Kerberos. Es werden nur neuartige Methoden wie OAuth unterstützt.

Azure AD ist somit ein Dienst, der für die Integration von modernen Cloud-Anwendungen geschaffen wurde. Viele Elemente einer traditionellen Active Directory Umgebung fehlen hingegen. Um auf diese Elemente dennoch nicht verzichten zu müssen, gibt es nachfolgende Alternativen zu einem einfachen Azure AD Join.

Azure AD Connect

Über Azure AD Connect lässt sich ein Hybridbetrieb zwischen einem traditionellen Active Directory und Azure AD realisieren. Azure AD Connect synchronisiert dabei automatisch die relevanten Daten vom lokalen Active Directory nach Azure AD.
Für Details zu Azure AD Connect siehe LINK: Azure AD Connect.

Azure AD Domain Services

Azure AD Domain Services (kurz: AAD DS) ist ein Produkt von Azure, welches eine von Microsoft verwaltete Active Directory Domain auf zwei Domain Controllern bereitstellt. Über diese Domain ist die Nutzung von Organisationseinheiten und Gruppenrichtlinien möglich. Auch LDAP kann für Verbindungen zum Verzeichnisdienst genutzt werden.
Die Domain Controller werden dabei von Microsoft verwaltet, was unter anderem auch automatisches Patch-Management bedeutet. Andererseits ist die Möglichkeit zur Verwaltung der Domain eingeschränkt, man erhält beispielsweise keine Domänenadministrator-Berechtigungen.

Domain Controller auf Azure (als IaaS)

Eine zweite Alternative ist ein eigenes Deployment einer Active Directory Infrastruktur auf Azure VMs durchzuführen. Bei dieser Option hat man die volle Kontrolle über die Domain, allerdings ist man auch alleine für deren Pflege (Patches und Updates, Backups, etc.) verantwortlich. Diese Option ist einem traditionellen, On-Premises Active Directory am ähnlichsten. Lediglich die Infrastruktur in Form von Windows Servern auf Azure VMs wird von Microsoft bereitgestellt.

Zusammenfassung

Für eine Organisation, die einen Cloud-First- oder Cloud-Only-Ansatz verfolgt und die Einschränkungen gegenüber einem lokalen Active Directory (oder Hybridbetrieb) akzeptieren kann, bietet Azure Active Directory eine gute, zukunftsorientierte Alternative.
Hängt die Organisation jedoch von den Funktionalitäten eines traditionellen Active Directory ab, so bietet Azure AD keinen Ersatz hierfür. Die Azure-Plattform bietet aber trotzdem cloud-basierte Ansätze, mit denen sich eine derartige Umgebung realisieren lässt (Domain Controller auf Azure und Azure AD Domain Services).

[GRATIS WHITEPAPER] Best Practices im Berechtigungsmanagement in Microsoft® Umgebungen

Wie man mit Berechtigungen in Microsoft® Umgebungen am besten umgeht, lesen Sie in unserem Whitepaper.

Zum Download

Go to Top