Active Directory

General Information

Active Directory is the directory service of Microsoft Server. It is used to manage company network objects, such as:

  • Users
  • Groups
  • Computers
  • Printers
  • Shared folders

Active Directory was first released with Windows Server 2000 and has since been continuously expanded and improved. Since version Windows Server 2008, Active Directory has always consisted of the following five services:

Active Directory Domain Services (AD DS)

Domain Services are the central components of any Windows domain network. Any domain devices and users are stored in the AD DS. At the same time, AD DS acts as an authentication service for users who are managed in Active Directory (i.e. it checks for valid login details when users log on to the network). AD DS is operated by special Windows servers, so-called domain controllers.

AD DS holds an important position in many companies because several other services depend on it, for instance: Group policies, Exchange Server, SharePoint Server and numerous third-party applications and services that implement an interface to AD DS (e.g. via LDAP).

Lightweight Directory Services (AD LDS)

As the name suggests, LDS is a light version of AD DS. LDS does not require you to build a domain structure and domain controllers. It is purely a directory service for storing information. This information can be accessed via an LDAP interface.
LDS is most commonly used for managing user and group information for third-party applications. This is particularly useful when multiple applications need to access the same user information, as this information only needs to be stored and administered once in LDS.

Federation Services (AD FS)

Federation Services are used for single sign-on (SSO) and allow users to use their logon information not only to log on to the local Windows domain, but also to log on to defined non-domain services (primarily web applications). With Office 365, AD FS has significantly gained importance as it has enabled single sign-on with Office 365 applications. To operate AD FS, an AD DS infrastructure is required.

Rights Management Service (AD RMS)

This service ensures that certain resources are protected from unauthorized access using cryptographic methods (encryption).

Certificate Services (AD CS)

Certificate services provide a public key infrastructure (PKI).

See also:

Azure AD Connect

AGDLP

[FREE WHITEPAPER] Best Practices for Access Rights Management in Microsoft® Environments

Read our whitepaper to learn how best to treat access rights in Microsoft® environments.

Download

[FREE WHITEPAPER] Best Practices for Access Rights Management in Microsoft® Environments

Read our whitepaper to learn how best to treat access rights in Microsoft® environments.

Download
By |2019-08-20T15:32:46+00:0020 / 08 / 2019|

Active Directory

Allgemeines

Active Directory ist der Verzeichnisdienst von Microsoft Server. In Active Directory werden Netzwerkobjekte der Organisation verwaltet, wie zum Beispiel:

  • Benutzer
  • Gruppen
  • Computer
  • Drucker
  • Ordnerfreigaben

Active Directory wurde erstmals mit Windows Server 2000 bereitgestellt und wird seither kontinuierlich erweitert und verbessert. Mit der Version Windows Server 2008 besteht Active Directory aus fünf Diensten:

Active Directory Domain Services (AD DS)

Domain Services bildet die zentrale Komponente jedes Windows Domänennetzwerks. In AD DS werden Geräte und Benutzer der Domäne gespeichert. AD DS fungiert gleichzeitig als Authentifizierungsservice für die im Active Directory verwalteten Benutzer (Kontrolle auf gültige Anmeldungsinformationen, wenn ein Benutzer sich am Netzwerk anmelden möchte). Der Betrieb von AD DS erfolgt durch spezielle Windows Server, sogenannte „Domain Controller“.
In vielen Organisationen nimmt das AD DS eine sehr wichtige Rolle, da andere Dienste enorm von ihm abhängen. Dazu zählen unter anderem: Gruppenrichtlinien, Exchange Server, SharePoint Server und zahlreiche Drittanwendungen und Dienst, welche eine Schnittstelle zu AD DS implementieren (zum Beispiel über LDAP).

Lightweight Directory Services (AD LDS)

Wie der Name schon sagt, bietet LDS eine leichtgewichtige Alternative zu AD DS. Bei LDS ist es nicht notwendig, eine Domänenstruktur aufzubauen und dafür Domain Controller zu betreiben. Stattdessen bildet es einen reinen Verzeichnisdienst zur Speicherung von Informationen. Zum Zugriff auf die Informationen bietet LDS eine LDAP-Schnittstelle an.
In der Praxis wird LDS oftmals dazu genutzt, Benutzer- und Gruppeninformationen für Drittanwendungen zu verwalten. Das ist insbesondere dann praktikabel, wenn mehrere Anwendungen auf die gleichen Benutzerinformationen zugreifen müssen, da diese nur einmalig in LDS gespeichert und verwaltet werden müssen.

Federation Services

Die Federation Services bilden einen Dienst für Single Sign On an (SSO). Damit wird es Benutzern ermöglicht, sich mit Ihren Anmeldungsinformationen nicht nur an der lokalen Windows Domäne, sondern auch bei definierten, domänenfremden Diensten (vordergründig Web-Applikationen) anmelden zu können. AD FS hat durch Office 365 wesentlich an Bedeutung gewonnen, da über AD FS ein Single Sign On mit den Anwendungen aus Office 365 möglich wird. Für den Betrieb von AD FS ist eine AD DS-Infrastruktur Voraussetzung.

Rights Management Service (AD RMS)

Dieser Dienst stellt sicher, das bestimmte Ressourcen durch kryptografische Methoden (Verschlüsselung) vor unberechtigten Zugriffen geschützt werden.

Certificate Services (AD CS)

Der Zertifikatsdienst stellt eine Public Key Infrastructure (PKI) zur Verfügung.

Siehe auch

Azure AD Connect (Dienst zur Synchronisierung mit Azure AD)
ADGLP (Rollenbasierte Berechtigungsvergabe über verschachtelte Gruppen)

[GRATIS WHITEPAPER] Best Practices im Berechtigungsmanagement in Microsoft® Umgebungen

Wie man mit Berechtigungen in Microsoft® Umgebungen am besten umgeht, lesen Sie in unserem Whitepaper.

Zum Download

By |2019-08-20T09:40:33+00:0011 / 07 / 2019|
📢 Melden Sie sich jetzt zu unserem kostenlosen Webinar "TOP 5 Gefahren im Access Management" an! 🔔🔔Jetzt anmelden!
+