Michael Plos

About Michael Plos

This author has not yet filled in any details.
So far Michael Plos has created 8 blog entries.

Data Breach: When Nightmares Become Reality

By |2020-02-12T18:56:37+01:0012 / 02 / 2020|BLOG|

Our world is becoming more digitized by the minute; but as great as the opportunities presented by the advancements in digitization may be, they are accompanied by equally great risks. When asked about their worst imaginable scenario, IT managers will answer in unison: a large-scale data breach. For German car rental company Buchbinder, this [...]

Austria: Company Pays 4 Million Euros Ransom due to Ransomware Attack

By |2020-02-04T10:05:04+01:0019 / 12 / 2019|BLOG|

There are numerous reasons as to why data theft and hacking or phishing attacks occur: outdated systems, insufficient backups and security updates and a lack of risk awareness. The results are damages in the millions – and the situation is getting worse, explains Rémi Vrignaud, head of the Allianz Group in Austria: "It is [...]

Cyber Insurance: Nice Idea, but Is It Effective?

By |2020-02-14T14:39:17+01:0021 / 11 / 2019|BLOG|

In 2018, cybercrimes caused 45 billion US dollars worth of damages worldwide. To put that into perspective: in the same year, all global natural disasters combined generated damages of 140 billion dollars. It is therefore hardly surprising that, in recent years, insurance companies have jumped on the cyber security train in the form of [...]

IT Security: Economic Sector Demands State to Impose Stricter Regulations

By |2020-02-14T14:57:53+01:0007 / 11 / 2019|BLOG|

The TÜV Association (Technical Supervisory Association) recently commissioned polling institute Ipsos to conduct a representative survey on the topic of IT security. A total of 503 companies with at least ten employees was surveyed. The results were as clear as they were surprising: 47 percent of IT security managers, IT department heads and other [...]

Michael Plos

About Michael Plos

This author has not yet filled in any details.
So far Michael Plos has created 6 blog entries.

Österreich: Unternehmen zahlt 4 Millionen Euro Lösegeld wegen Ransomware

Von |2019-12-17T16:12:18+01:0011 / 12 / 2019|BLOG|

Veraltete Systeme, fehlende Back-ups oder Sicherheitsupdates und mangelndes Risikobewusstsein. Die Hauptgründe für Datendiebstahl, Hacking oder Phishing sind schnell schnell gefunden. Die Folge: Schäden in Millionenhöhe. Und die Situation wird schlimmer, wie Rémi Vrignaud, Chef der Allianz-Gruppe in Österreich erklärt: “Es ist das am stärksten wachsende Kriminalitätsfeld”. Unternehmen aller Größen betroffen Als Angriffsziele suchen sich [...]

Cyberversicherungen: Gut, aber nicht perfekt

Von |2019-11-29T10:54:37+01:0020 / 11 / 2019|BLOG|

Im Jahr 2018 richtete Cybercrime Schäden in Höhe von weltweit 45 Milliarden US-Dollar an. Zum Vergleich: Im selben Jahr verursachten sämtliche globale Naturkatastrophen Schäden von 140 Milliarden Dollar. Da ist es wenig überraschend, dass Versicherer das Thema Cybersecurity in den letzten Jahren für sich entdeckt haben: in Form von Cyberversicherungen. Das Versprechen der entsprechenden [...]

IT-Sicherheit: Die Wirtschaft fordert strengere Regeln vom Staat

Von |2019-11-07T13:07:10+01:0005 / 11 / 2019|BLOG|

Der TÜV-Verband wollte es beim Thema IT-Sicherheit ganz genau wissen. Und hat deshalb beim Meinungsforschungsinstitut Ipsos eine repräsentative Umfrage in Auftrag gegeben. Befragt wurden insgesamt 503 Unternehmen mit mindestens zehn Mitarbeitern. Das Ergebnis fiel ebenso eindeutig wie überraschend aus: So sprachen sich ganze 47 Prozent der befragten IT-Sicherheitsverantwortlichen, IT-Leiter und Mitglieder der Geschäftsleitung für [...]